About the MSSF

MSSF supports outstanding undergraduate students from underserved populations in the Middle East and North Africa who demonstrate a need for supplemental assistance to attend colleges and universities in the U.S. and American style universities in the Middle East and North Africa.
Graduating student holds up a scarf with the Lebanese flag on it at her ceremony

Amideast's MENA Scholarship Support Fund (MSSF) enables highly qualified students from underserved communities in the Middle East and North Africa to pursue undergraduate study in the United States. Through this program, Amideast identifies exceptional students who demonstrate promise, but lack the financial means to attend an American college or university. 

MSSF provides support to students admitted to U.S. colleges and universities with generous financial aid packages by closing the gap in cost of attendance. 

In 2006, Amideast established MSSF to commemorate the legacy of our late Senior Vice President, Diana Lufkin Kamal, and to honor her commitment to international educational exchange. Originally named the Diana Kamal Scholarship Search Fund (DKSSF), the program underwent a rebranding as MSSF in 2023 to better capture its scope and objectives.  


  • Applicant must provide an admission offer with financial aid to a 4-year undergraduate program at a U.S. college/university or American style college/university in the Middle East or North Africa. 
  • Applicants must hold citizenship of one of the following countries: Egypt, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia, Jordan, Yemen, or Syria. 
  • Applicant or applicant's parents cannot be holders of a US passport or green card. 
  • Applicant must demonstrate leadership and community service experience. 
  • Previous affiliation with Amideast programs preferred. 


The application for academic year 2024-2025 is closed. 


For additional information, please contact Amideast at: mssf@amideast.org


MSSF has enabled underserved students from the MENA region to attend more than 70 U.S. colleges and universities, including:

  • American University
  • Augustana College
  • Babson College
  • Bard College
  • Barnard College
  • Bates College
  • Berea College
  • Boston University
  • Bowdoin College
  • Brigham Young University
  • Bryn Mawr college
  • Bucknell University
  • California State, Chico
  • Carleton College
  • Carnegie Mellon Qatar
  • Central Washington University
  • Colby College
  • Colgate University
  • Columbia University
  • Connecticut College
  • Dartmouth University
  • Davidson College
  • Drexel University
  • Duke University
  • Earlham College
  • Franklin & Marshall College
  • Georgetown University
  • Grinnell College
  • Hamilton College
  • Harvard University
  • Haverford College
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Kenyon College
  • Lafayette College
  • Lake Forest College
  • Lehigh University
  • Lycoming College
  • Minerva University
  • MIT
  • Monmouth College
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • New College of Florida
  • New York University - Shanghai
  • Northwestern University
  • NYU Abu Dhabi
  • Parsons School of Design
  • Princeton University
  • Purdue University
  • Rhodes College
  • Rice University
  • Robert Morris University
  • Sewanee: University of The South
  • Smith College
  • St. Olaf College
  • Stanford University
  • Stetson University
  • Swarthmore College
  • Troy University
  • Tufts University
  • Union University
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Denver
  • University of Miami
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Rochester
  • University of Toledo
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Vassar College
  • Villanova University
  • Wagner College
  • Washington and Lee university
  • Wellesley College
  • Wesleyan University
  • Whitman College
  • Williams College
  • Yale University