ALAM in the Arts Events!

You're invited to join a series of four live events throughout March

AMIDEAST's Leaders, Alumni, and Mentors (ALAM) network is hosting a weekly live event throughout March 2021 to celebrate and share artistic talents in our communities in the MENA region and beyond. Each week will feature ALAM members who are involved in various artistic endeavors both personally and professionally — and you're invited! 

These special events are free and open to the public and will focus on four themes:

 

More details on each special session:

Art for Personal Growth will take place on March 5 at 12pm ET (17:00 GMT) on Zoom and Facebook Live. This one-hour session will focus on personal stories and interactive lessons from three AMIDEAST supporters, alumni, and experts. You will benefit from special guided activities to explore how to use art for your own personal development and coping mechanisms, and how mindful artistic tools can help connect people and communities. This session is a great stand-alone event, and also a great warm-up for the entire series of ALAM in the Arts! 

The second session will center on Creative Writing and Poetry on March 11 at 11am ET (16:00 GMT), again on Zoom and Facebook Live. Come learn from three amazing writers and poets from Iraq, Palestine, and Tunisia! Our special alumni guests will present their work and discuss their process, and you might even get a chance to practice some of your own writing skills!

Don't forget about the Visual Arts! The third in our series, this event will be March 18 from 10am - 12pm ET (14:00 - 16:00 GMT)*. You will hear from members of the ALAM community about their experiences with photography, painting, Islamic art, and fashion design. You may get a chance to ask questions directly and share your own experiences as well. 

Music will finish out the month on March 23 at 1pm ET (17:00 GMT) when two accomplished musicians perform live and then join a third musician from the ALAM community in a panel discussion about their inspirations and the ways local culture has impacted their musical path. You won't want to miss the chance to hear these special performances and conversation!  

 

You are welcome to attend any and all of these events! When it's time, use this link to join, or go the AMIDEAST facebook page to watch the event on Facebook Live. Zoom is the best option for joining if you would like to have the option to interact. If the zoom room gets too full, you can still join through the Facebook live.

You can watch the recording of the Arts for Personal Growth from March 5 here, and Creative Writing and Poetry from March 11 hereVisual Arts from March 18 here, and Music from March 23 here.

Join the Music session on March 23 using the zoom link and meeting ID below, or on the AMIDEAST Facebook Live.

The Zoom meeting ID for each event is: 928 0997 6540

Questions? Email alam@amideast.org

*Many US time zones ended Daylight Savings Time on March 14, so please note the time change and check the local time conversation for your country.