Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Academic Calendar

MOROCCO: Area & Arabic Language Studies, Fall 2016

 Saturday, August 20

 Students Depart US for the Program

 Sunday, August 21

 Students Arrive in Morocco

 Monday, August 22

 Orientation Begins

 Thursday, August 25

 Move in with Host Families

 Monday, August 29

 Classes Begin

 Friday, September 2

 Last Day to Add/Drop a Course

 Monday-Wednesday, September 12-14

 Eid Al-Adha* Break (No Classes)

 Thursday, September 22

 Last Day to Drop a Course Without Getting a 'W'  on Transcript1

 Friday-Tuesday, September 23-27

 Zawayat Ahnsal Excursion (High Atlas  Mountains)

 Monday, October 3

 Islamic New Year* (Classes Meet)

 Monday-Friday, October 10-14

 Midterm Exams

 Monday-Friday, October 17-21

 Fall Break (No Classes)

 Friday, October 28

 Last Day to Drop a Course to Receive a “W”  Grade2

 Saturday-Monday, November 12-14

 Fez Excursion

 Friday, November 18

 Moroccan Independence Day (No Classes)

 Monday-Friday, December 5-9

 Final Exams

 Monday, December 12

 The Prophet’s Birthday* (No Classes)

 Tuesday-Friday, December 13-16

 Reflection Week (Classes Meet)

 Friday, December 16

 Final Day of Program

 Saturday, December 17

 Students Depart Morocco3

 

 

1Students can withdraw from courses on or before this date without receiving a “W” (for withdrawal) grade on his/her transcript, provided he/she is still enrolled for the minimum number of credits required for the AMIDEAST program. Should a student choose to withdraw from a course on or before this date, the course will not appear on the student’s transcript. After this date, no course may be deleted from the student’s permanent AMIDEAST academic record. Courses dropped after this date will appear with the grade of “W” on the transcript.

2 This is the withdrawal deadline. Once the withdrawal deadline has passed, the student may not drop a course to receive a “W” on his/her transcript. After this date, a letter grade will be assigned based on the student’s performance in the course. A student will receive a failing grade (F) if he/she stops attending a course, fails to take a final examination, and/or fails to turn in required work.

3At the end of the AMIDEAST Education Abroad program students are free to travel either back to their home country or to other locations. After the day indicated as the day students depart (typically following the final day of the program), students are responsible for all of their own transportation, housing, insurance, and other logistical arrangements. Students should note that after the departure day noted on the academic calendar, their program-provided insurance coverage will end and they must arrange for accommodations outside of AMIDEAST shared apartments or with AMIDEAST host families.

*Note: Muslim holidays are approximate; precise dates depend on the sighting of the new moon.

 

All dates are subject to change.

 

The spring 2017 calendar will be available in mid-2016. 

 

MOROCCO: Area & Arabic Language Studies, Spring 2017

 Saturday, January 14 

 Students Depart U.S.

 Sunday, January 15

 Students Arrive in Morocco

 Monday, January 16

 Orientation Begins

 Wednesday, January 18

 Move-In with Host Families

 Monday, January 23

 Classes Begin

 Friday, January 27

 Last Day to Add/Drop a Course

 Friday, February 17

 Last Day to Drop a Course Without Getting a 'W' on  Transcript1

 Saturday-Monday,
 February 18-20

 Excursion: Fez (No Classes)

 Monday-Friday, March 6-10 Midterm Exams

 Monday-Friday,
 March 13-17

 Spring Break  (No Classes)

 Friday, March 24

 Last Day to Drop a Course to Receive a “W” Grade2

 Wednesday-Sunday,
April 19-23

 Excursion:  Zaouyat Ahnsal and Marrakesh (No Classes)

 Monday, May 1

 Moroccan Labor Day (No Classes)

 Tuesday-Friday, May 2-5 

 Final Exams

 Monday-Friday, May 8-12

 Reflection Week (Classes Meet)

 Friday, May 12

 Final Day of Program

 Saturday, May 13

 Students Depart Morocco3

1Students can withdraw from courses on or before this date without receiving a “W” (for withdrawal) grade on his/her transcript, provided he/she is still enrolled for the minimum number of credits required for the AMIDEAST program. Should a student choose to withdraw from a course on or before this date, the course will not appear on the student’s transcript. After this date, no course may be deleted from the student’s permanent AMIDEAST academic record. Courses dropped after this date will appear with the grade of “W” on the transcript.

2 This is the withdrawal deadline. Once the withdrawal deadline has passed, the student may not drop a course to receive a “W” on his/her transcript. After this date, a letter grade will be assigned based on the student’s performance in the course. A student will receive a failing grade (F) if he/she stops attending a course, fails to take a final examination, and/or fails to turn in required work.

3At the end of the AMIDEAST Education Abroad program students are free to travel either back to their home country or to other locations. After the day indicated as the day students depart (typically following the final day of the program), students are responsible for all of their own transportation, housing, insurance, and other logistical arrangements. Students should note that after the departure day noted on the academic calendar, their program-provided insurance coverage will end and they must arrange for accommodations outside of AMIDEAST shared apartments or with AMIDEAST host families.

*Note: Muslim holidays are approximate; precise dates depend on the sighting of the new moon.

 

All dates are subject to change.

The fall 2017 calendar will be available in early 2017.