You are here

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

 

Academic Calendar

  

JORDAN: Area & Arabic Language Studies, Fall 2014

Friday, August 22

Students Depart US

Saturday, August 23

Students Arrive in Jordan

Sunday, August 24

Orientation Begins

Thursday, August 28

Move in to host families/shared apartments

Sunday, August 31

Classes Begin

Thursday, September 4

Last Day to Drop/Add a Course

Tuesday, September 16

Northern Jordan Excursion: Jerash & Ajloun
Thursday, October 2

Last Day to Drop a Course Without Getting a 'W' on Transcript1

Friday-Saturday, October 3-11

Eid Al-Adha*: Fall Break (No classes)

Saturday, October 25

Islamic New Year*

Sunday - Monday, October 26-27 

Southern Jordan Excursion: Wadi Rum & Petra

Wednesday - Thursday, November 26-27

Biblical Jordan excursion & re-entry orientation

Sunday-Thursday, December 7-11

Final Exams

Sunday-Thursday, December 14-18

Reflection Week (classes meet)

Thursday, December 18

Final Day of Program

Friday, December 19

Students Depart Jordan3

 

JORDAN: Area & Arabic Language Studies, Spring 2015

Friday, January 16

Students Depart US

Saturday, January 17

Students Arrive in Jordan

Sunday, January 18

Orientation Begins
Thursday, January 22 Move in with Host Families or to Shared Student Apartments
Sunday, January 25

Classes Begin

Thursday, January 29

Last Day to Add/Drop a Course

Monday, February 9

Northern Jordan Excursion: Jerash & Ajloun

Thursday, February 19

Last Day to Drop a Course Without Getting a 'W' on Transcript1

Monday-Tuesday, February 23-24

Southern Jordan Excursion: Wadi Rum & Petra

Friday-Saturday, March 13-21

Spring Break  (No classes)
Thursday, March 27 Last Day to Drop a Course to Receive a “W” Grade2

Sunday, April 12

Easter Sunday

Wednesday-Thursday, April 29-30

Biblical Jordan excursion & Re-Entry Orientation

Sunday-Thursday, May 3-10

Final Exams

Sunday-Thursday, May 10-14

Reflection Week (classes meet)

Thursday, May 14

Final Day of Program

Friday, May 15

Students Depart Jordan3

1 Students can withdraw from courses on or before this date without receiving a “W” (for withdrawal) grade on his/her transcript, provided he/she is still enrolled for the minimum number of credits required for the AMIDEAST program. Should a student choose to withdraw from a course on or before this date, the course will not appear on the student’s transcript. After this date, no course may be deleted from the student’s permanent AMIDEAST academic record. Courses dropped after this date will appear with the grade of “W” on the transcript.
 

2 This is the withdrawal deadline. Once the withdrawal deadline has passed, the student may not drop a course to receive a “W” on his/her transcript. After this date, a letter grade will be assigned based on the student’s performance in the course. A student will receive a failing grade (F) if he/she stops attending a course, fails to take a final examination, and/or fails to turn in required work.
 

3 At the end of the AMIDEAST Education Abroad program students are free to travel either back to their home country or to other locations. After the day indicated as the day students depart (typically following the final day of the program), students are responsible for all of their own transportation, housing, insurance, and other logistical arrangements. Students should note that after the departure day noted on the academic calendar, their program-provided insurance coverage will end and they must arrange for accommodations outside of AMIDEAST shared apartments or with AMIDEAST host families.
 

 *Note: Muslim holidays are approximate; precise dates depend on the sighting of the new moon.
 

 

 

 

The Fall 2015 calendar will be available in early winter 2015.